How to Survive Your Twenties?

 

My first point is travel, now some people may say you have years and years to do this but in your twenties you are not expected to be ranking it in so working in a bar in a different country is not such a bad thing, go see the world because after all you only live once and when you are in your twenties you have reached the peak of your althtic ability so you can enjoy the world a lot more. My grandmother has been traveling the world since she retired but there are certain things she struggles with that maybe if she had been young she would be able to see full.
The second thing I would like to say is about work. Now I’ve never really had a job, I actually got my first job during the summer which waitressing, it was just twice a week but it was something. Any ways carringing on, I think a lot of people stress so much about getting a job, now of course don’t be one of those people sitting on there are expecting a really well paid job to come to you but equally don’t stress about not finding something. You may have a degree, you may not but find something you enjoy and that’s what is important because most people in there twenties find a job and that’s the job they have for the next fourth something years. Like my dad at the age of thirty got a job, and he has the same job twenty one years later, he doesn’t really like it but it is a really well paid job for not doing much, so basically make sure that everything lines up.
My third point is relationships, now I live with a girl who wanted a baby and eighteen, two years later I think she would be so happy if she had a kid now, her boyfriend probably wouldn’t as he is very get a job and be careful. Now I am a little old fashioned when it comes to kids, I think you should do the whole getting married, get a house and then have a kid and honestly think more people should be doing this. Yes a lot of people have kids in there early twenties but you are losing a lot of time where you can figure out what you want and how you want to be. Now before I get some bitch complaining about I just want a kid. You can still have that bloody kid just have some time when you are out of education when you have no strings to do something different, don’t get out of school or college or uni or whatever else and then have a kid. Yes you maybe happy and everything, the kid maybe your world but I honestly think you should be using your twenties to be selfish.
Experiment, this is my finally point. Sure you could try a gay relationship, you could try a straight one. You could try a legal high drug (I am not going to condone taking anything illegal but legal highs are just as good) change your hair colour, try and learn an instrument and most importantly fall in and out of relationships like no body knows. Everyone one of those things are important and can make you in to a better more rounded person, so don’t just get out of school and grab the first thing you see look around and see what the world has to offer you, and make sure you have fun because after all your twenties create the person you are, and you would rather be positive than negative.

One thought on “How to Survive Your Twenties?

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post. I spent the majority of my 20’s in what I can only describe now as an existential crisis! After coming out of college I decided that I NEVER wanted to go to university so decided to work and enjoy myself. After this little episode I went to uni in the end and trained as a nurse which is what I currently do and actually LOVE it!

    I have travelled, I do want kids but despite wanting them when I was in my early 20’s and my best friend having them at that time I am glad that I have waited. It really is one decision that should not be made lightly as it is bloody hard work! There will always be someone reading saying ‘I want kids, blah, blah!’ Well fuck ’em! It is always your choice – especially as it is gonna come out of your hooha!

    Off to read more of your posts now.

    Thanks for the read, keep writing xx

Leave a Reply

