Hello March

It is the first and I am actually writing this, shock horror. With theses things I am only going to really talk about things that happen in the UK and maybe a few about America but I am pretty clueless about everything else.

So today is the day of two things. The first and more important than the latter is of course Ash Wednesday, the day in which lent begins. I am an atheist but I accept that some people do stay true to this, I think I gave up one thing one year for a joke, Ketchup and I still hate it, ten years later.

Today is also St Davids day which is the stain of Wales, being English there is this on going battle of the English and Welsh hating each other so I don’t have a clue what this holiday is actually meant to represent. I feel like I should probably know due to the fact I live just over an hour from Wales, and my brother is currently studying there but I seem to have grown up presenting the Welsh don’t exist. By the way that is just sarcasm.  Now I feel that is a little harsh on them so I had a quick look to our old friend Wikipedia. The day is known as a feast day where you celebrate every first of march in celebration of David getting his Saint title, so pretty simple. The traditions include wearing daffodils and leeks and eating welsh food. Some cities in Wales also have parades throughout the day, I remember my brother mentioning this in the past. To be fair it’s not a bad day, you get to eat and watch parades, but one little problem it is not an official holiday so unlike some of the bullshite holidays America get we have to go to school and work and run our lives as normal.

For those who likes stargazing, the full moon follows on the 12th of the month while the New Moon is on the 28th.

We also have another Saint day here in the UK, this time it is the one for Ireland. Although not strictually apart of the UK we go normally give them a shout out when the day falls. I think the day is bigger in America than it is in most of the UK. Like St Davids day it is also known as a feast day. It is set to mark the time Christianity came to Ireland and it celebrates the culture and heritage of Ireland. There are some traditions such as wearing green and wearing shamrocks. I have celebrated this day a number of times though which normally involves drinking more than a should but you have to love the Irish for that quality.

In the UK Mothering Sunday falls on the 26th. Also on that day it is known as Make Up Your Own Hoilday Day, for those who wish to have laugh.

It is also Woman’s History Month, but I would also like to take this time to thank every man that has supported a woman achievements and inventions which they have contributed to socitiey, thus letting us have this month in which we can celebrate every good thing that woman have done as a sex.

Leave a Reply

