FUCK Valentines Day

Today I spent the day just like I would normally, I got up, I had a shower I did some work and I watch some god awful day time TV. With just minutes until the end of this day I thought I would write this. I hate valentine’s day. Now before loads of  people just say you are bitter and single, I do and fact have a boyfriend, he just happens to live on the other side of the country.  He sent me a message earlier asking me if I was watching the football and I said no, my housemate is spending time with his needy girlfriend. I know that sounds harsh, I live with two couples, one spent the whole day together the other treated the day just like any other day.

I honestly don’t see the fucking point in the day, if you feel the need to celebrate this so called day, then is your relationship really that good? If you need to throw all your emotions to the person you ‘love’ once a year, why don’t you do it every god damn day.

I grew up in a home that this so called day wasn’t a big deal, sure my parents gave each other a card and my dad brought home flowers but shall I tell you what my dad would randomly buy flowers throughout the year no matter the day.

I wanted to get this out because I honestly don’t get the whole thing about the day, to me it is only there just for companies to make money out of you. It wasn’t until the fourteenth century till Valentines day was even connected to love and romance. I just don’t want to be apart of a holiday which is about nothing more than money. It is not needed, like I said if you love each other you should be showing that every day not on this day.

You should be getting/giving flowers every other week. You should be going out on dates when ever you have time, you should be expressing love through letters and words. Why do you let it all out on this day? because like many people everyone has become so manipulated by the media and by the world that they feel the need to get absorbed in to consumerism.

HAPPY EVERY OTHER DAY

Leave a Reply

