All Thing February

So I am writing this about half way through the month. Though I use to do this on my last blog so I thought I would keep the thing up, I may go back and add January on because frankly I like writing theses sorts of things.

So what is this month about, love (Ew Yuck) and then of course we have pancake day at the end of it, so frankly that is a bonus. The net thing no one will care about but it is my brothers birthday so that is something I need to talk about. Chinese New Year is also happening this month, as well as it being Black History month, Ash Wednesday Day, Groundhog Day, President’s Day and Mardi Gras all happen this month. So let me talk about a few of them.

Starting with Chinese New Year, although it falls at the end of January from my expirence it is normally celebrated for around five years, I might be wrong on that because I am using a memory which is around four years old to quested that. Speaking of Chinese New Year, I was born in the year of the Pig, this year is the year of the rooster, for those who don’t know how the animals work they happen every 12 years, so if you are turning a multiple of twelve this year then congraulations you were born in the year of the rooster. Things such as the Dragon Dance or Lion Dance, as well as the exchange of the Red Envelopes, normally filled with money are just some of the things that happen over the week.

Net we have the National Freedom day, which happens on the first of the month, not being American myself I don’t know much about this holiday or day or whatever it is. I do now that it was Preisdent Harry Truman who made this an official observance.

Next on our list is Groundhog day, whic falls on the second. Anyone who has watched the film Groundhog Day I have a pretty good understanding on what this day is about, if you havent you should go watch the film it is pretty damn good  Though like most things is is mainly celbebrated in the United States I am only aware of it due to the film. It magically means that if it rains on this day we will have six more weeks of rain and if it is sunny then we will have six more weeks of sun.

Next on my list is Valentine’s Day, a day which is completly and uttly pointless. Due to the fact that I am writing this after that day I have actually written a blog post about the day if you wish to read it. I think the day is pointless because if you love someone you should be showing it everyday not just for one day a year.

President Day, or Washington Da in one states  wihich os basically celbrating Washington’s Birthday, and it honours all the presidents of United States of America, it happens on the third Monday of the February and although I have little knowledge on it I do like knowing about theses sorts of dates.

Media Gras, or in my country Pankcake day or sometimes call troves Tuesday. It happens the day before Ash Wednesday, so this year it is happening on the 28th. Originally this was a day when you could get everything sweet and put it in a pot or in a pancake and eat them in order to prepare yourself for the following day. In America they do it a little bit bigger often having parties and dressing up which makes the whole day in the UK seem a little boring.

Ash Wednesday is the following day, starting on the 29th this year it is the day in which lent begins which is fourth days of fasting, which leads right up to Easter. Christian’s often fast on this day and go to church but a lot of people don’t really follow this day at all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

