Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

To be fair I wasn’t going to move this over from my other blog because frankly I wanted to review things which weren’t really well known, but then again I thought it would be a waste not to move i over and frankly as you guys probably have notice I have a huge obsession with Harry Potter so I felt like this needs to be on here wheather it is popular or not.

As you know or you don’t, Harry Potter it was the first book series I wanted to read, you see I suffer from dyslexia and I also have his thing that I should try anything that I know I am going to fail at, enter this thing called reading. When I first got into the Harry Potter series my mum use to read them to me, she did this up to the fifth book. I also had the audio books and I use to follow the words. It takes me about thirty minutes to read the first Harry Potter because of the audio books having in away brainwashed me over the years and I can simply scan the books without really looking and I know the words.

The reason I am saying all this is because my dream is to be a film producer (the ones who cast and get all the funding for the film. My parents are both accountants and they always joke about how even though I am determined not to follow there route I still what a job where I have to deal with budgets) I didn’t watch the first or the seven film in the cinema no idea why I just know I didn’t. Harry Potter made me interested in the making of a film, the behind the scenes aspects. I’ve probably watched the special features as many times as the films them selves so to say the least I was really excited for an eighth Harry Potter book.

The good thing about this, is for people like me who struggle with reading having it in play format is perfect it makes it easier to read each word rather than having a blurry mess of words which the other Harry Potter books have caused. I have studied Drama in the past so I am use to this sort of format, my brother no so much. It annoyed him a little he is far more academic than I am, he actually enjoys reading and although he has done a bit of acting in the past, but he is not use to this format. I do agree this story lacked the detail that it needed, the reason Shakespeare works so well is because it is beautifully written and has plenty of detail. This script lacked it and due to a thin story it doesn’t come across as well. Then again I shouldn’t really compared one of the greatest writers to Harry Potter but then I can be a drama snob. Well I can be a snob full stop.

The next bit contains spoilers. There are parts of this story really well planned out, the friendship between Albus, and Scorpio is probably a better friendship than the original trio. Although I understand Ron and Hermione fighting all the time, that does tend to happen to people who are trying to remain friends but clearly like each other. Most of the time it was over being jealous of someone. That being said Harry and Ron’s friendship annoys me at two points, the first being Ron spends weeks hating Harry for thinking that he put his name in the goblet of fire, yet he believe Harry at once for Voldemort return and he walks away from Harry and Hermione in the last book. He also believes Harry is not the heir of Slytherin. Those three things I think are all related and well Ron does one, then he does the opposite, then he goes back again. If they were really best friends then I doubt it would be so all over the place. It might have been jealously though. See that was the redeeming quality of this book the bad points are long.

The whole concept of the time thing just seemed really pointless and also broke rules which JK Rowling had already set out. The Time Turner doesn’t change time because after all it has already happened. If that makes sense Harry even says that in the third book. So these two boys go back and change the past which has broken one of the main rules that were already set out. It’s really annoyed me and thus made the whole book more like a bad fan fiction. The whole Voldemort having a daughter just seemed cliché as fuck.

There were nice moments sure, but you have that even in the pile of crap of Fifty shades of grey (which let’s be honest is a book about stalking) the plot was weak and almost needed the detail which the books have, maybe just maybe it would have been decent then rather than wtf is happening. Anyway it’s poor in harry potter terms but better than some of the crap theses days so gets a 3/5

I originally gave this a two but I think that was just the incail shock about how bad it was frankly it is not bad, it is simply average in my opinon.

Leave a Reply

