Severus Snape and the Marauders Review

Maybe I am one of the harsher people in the world or maybe I just love Harry Potter a little too much. Around a year ago something which I believe is honestly magical and brilliant was released by a company called Broad Strokes Productions. This story was written by Justin Zagri and directed by him and it was produced by Liana Minassian. I am a strong believer that they need a huge amount of credit when it comes to this product.

If I knew very little about Harry Potter I would give this a five out of five no issue because for one thing, the story is written well, for a kickerstarter film the special affects are great the acting is better than that of hollywood films and it is the story that many fans have been craving for. Like I’ve said I am a huge fan on Harry Potter so I am probably the worst person to talk about this film.

My first issue with this was the fact that our characters were in what appeared to be a muggle bar drinking what appears to be muggle alcohol. Now I get it, I am an inspiring film producer and I know that trying to creat the atomospher of a wizard area would cost more than they could probably afford. Thing like butter beer, which although is described as “That stuff’s not strong” does contain alcohol in it. I would just preferred to see them drink something which looked more than just coke and orange juice and I think one looked like beer, but I cant quite remember.

Now going back to the muggle area, I am saying it is a muggle pub due to the fact that Snape was using Oblivate on the bar man everytime he asked for ID, something which seems a little trival when it comes to the world of Harry Potter. I just don’t think that the Marauders would actively choose a pub ran by muggle. James and Sirus were both pure bloods so they would have very little connection with muggles, I mean look at the Weasley other than I think the twins who went to show off some card tricks to a pretty girl who worked in the post offic they had very little connection with muggles. The Weaslys didnt really mix its muggles but they had no issue with them. I just don’t think they would celebrate finishing school in that environment when you had plenty of wizard pubs up and down the country. They did try to fix this issue by saying it was Lily’s favourite.

The good part of that scene however almost tears as it reflected the movies and books, some of the words used made me think about Harry and even Neville’s choice of words when describing what the DA was meant to do and honestly that was greatly appreciated as a huge fan, so thank you for writing that. The scene was very touching how they were talking about how they have to fight and how someone of them wouldnt make it, that the fact they would have to fight people they know and their friends.

At the end of the scene Snape walks into where James, Sirus, Peter and Remus are and they apparate and appear in an open space.

I would like to say that I fall into the category of where I believe that James and Snape were as bad as each other when it came to one another, I do however have a lot of respect for James, they same can’t be said about Snape. That was another issue with this film.

James and Sirus were thought to be some of the best as magic and everything else surrounding in there year, might have been better than most in the school yet James needs to have Sirus, Petter and Remus to help him dual with Snape. Don’t get me wrong I think in the twenty years from when they left hogwarts to when Snape had that dual with Mcgonagall in the seventh film he learnt how to be better than James or Sirus ever were. I don’t believe at the age of eighteen that he would be able to take on all four of them. In the two years that had past from his worst memory where Snape was hung upside down by James and Sirus, he could do very little against two of them. Now unless he had some serious (Haha Serious like Sirus) death eater training during his summer holidays there is no way that in two years he could go from barely being able to defend himself against two people to be able to match four people.

I would have also liked to see James a little more cocky and arrogant, he’s he had some lovely sides to him but I would have like to see that shown when fighting  Snape. I would have liked to see him toy with him, make it look like he is going to be hit then at the last second block it. The only person who I believe they got perfectly in terms of personality was Peter, he was the last to jump in and help and I have a lot of respect of the actors mannerisms because they were down to a tee. Sirus was a very close second, then Remus, then Snape and lastly James. Lilly wasn’t in it enough for me to make a comment about her she appears really at the end and I felt though she looked perfect her and Snape’s relasionship had broken down by the end of school so felt the hug was a little out of place.

Going off topic a little, although this is done brilliant and I love the story and writing, the way it is shot. The acting i top knocked as well it is the fact that I am a huge fan that I cannot mark this high because it doesn’t fit with the characters that have already been built over the past twenty years and that is the only reason I am giving this a 3.5 out of 5.

If wasn’t a fan it would be five stars but I am the mean judge when the Harry Potter world is in play.

Watch it on YouTube. It is only twenty five miniutes of your life. There is also one made by the same people called the Greater Good, but the acting is not quite up to standard, guy who plays Abe is brilliant though.

Hope you liked reading. Here is the cast, how perfect do they look?

61bba8ec-ce34-4497-b958-d50c17f5cd20-4991-000006b080ada2a3_tmp

6 thoughts on “Severus Snape and the Marauders Review

Leave a Reply

